2016.21

I am so darn happy right now, I could burst. I’m listening to an amazing treat my sister sent me to celebrate my 50th birthday: Playing for Change Ripple. Musicians of the world coming together performing virtually. The beauty of this was not lost on me and an old Grateful Dead classic tugged at my hippie chick heart strings. I have had the most amazing birthday week, ever. Truly. I have posted my shenanigans all over the world wide web, so I won’t fill this space with details. Let it suffice to say I have had a week packed with the company of fine friends, perfectly sculpted cakes, live music, dancing into the wee hours, cool nights, and plenty of joy. I was so full of love and gratitude, I was even able to watch the first presidential debate from start to finish without any great personal suffering!! chuckle. I will try my very best to keep any politics out of the newsletter as we approach the November election, but since the debate aired on my 50th birthday, I figured I could sneak in one comment.
Yes, folks, so far, fifty is just fine.
Now, the farm and your farmers are very much looking ahead to the exciting Fall that awaits. Energized by the change in temperature, we seem to have our energy back and are excited by all that will unfold in the coming weeks. So friends, welcome, welcome to the Fall Extension, my favorite part of the year without a doubt. This first basket of the Fall is such a treat, final tastes of summer paired with the first of the fall greens. Use these sweet and hot peppers to sizzle up your greens, perfect. The basil bunches are perfect if you want to freeze one last batch of pesto. Winter really is right around the corner, a time when the fragrance of basil seems a treat from a long ago season. I hope you are all as excited to welcome October as I am.

Spicy Skillet Turnip Greens Recipe
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, cut into wedges
1 pound turnip greens, cleaned and chopped
¼ cup water
pinch brown sugar
⅛ teaspoon red pepper flakes (adjust to preference)

Drizzle olive oil into skillet over medium heat.
Add onion and cook until just tender, about 3 minutes. Then add ½ of turnip greens. Allow to cook down and add the remainder of the greens.
Add water, brown sugar and red pepper flakes. Adjust the amount of red pepper to your personal taste..

Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale
1 (8 ounce) package uncooked farfalle (bow tie) pasta
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
1 medium yellow bell pepper, chopped
1 cup roughly chopped kale
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 pinch dried basil ( definitely substitute fresh basil here!!)
1 pinch ground cayenne pepper (and substiture fresh chopped hot peppers here!!)
8 ounces feta cheese
Salt and pepper to taste
Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in red pepper, yellow pepper, kale and garlic. Season with basil, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. Cook until vegetables are tender. In a large bowl, toss cooked pasta with skillet mixture. Sprinkle with feta cheese to serve.

fall week 1 in your basket:
kale
arugula
turnip greens
basil
peppers
eggplant
garlic

This entry was posted in Letters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

