2016.12

It is definitely hard for me to think about much else other than our fire recovery. I promise, really, that I will write about other things, but this week, it is still pretty fresh: just 10 days ago. As the shock wore off I set about trying to make sense of what happened and the implications for the future. Emotionally, I find myself swaying back and forth. Often, and for many hours at a time, I am quite grateful and optimistic. I count my blessings: no lives lost, no injuries, the unending support of a loving and generous community. Unfortunately, there are these other moments as well, times of near utter despair and deep, deep fatigue. We have been working so hard to keep each other up and realize this is an amazing opportunity to not only rebuild our barn, but rebuild ourselves. On the good days we see this as a great chance to implement change on all levels, on the bad days, well, I just go out and work in the fields. I have been energized and re inspired in the hours I have spent cultivating late summer plantings. It has been mandatory for me, between phone calls with the insurance company, to just get out there and continue farming.
There are so many silver linings I dare not try to list them all. It is these glorious gifts though that keep us going. Friends from long ago and people that we have never met donating to our GoFundMe campaign. Neighbors dropping be offering help and food and pies, a farm truck, fall transplants, gift cards for TSC and Lowes, we have been showered with love an d assistance. Knowing it is our amazing community that will help us pull through this brings a smile to my face each and every day. Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance, well, they aren’t being so kind! So, the harvest is complete, the family is settling in for the night, and I wish you all a great week ahead. It is Paul’s week at market so I will miss seeing you, but know my deepest gratitude goes out to each of you!
Thank you. Thank you. And once more, thank you

week twelve in your basket:
cucumbers
sweet peppers
hot peppers
eggplant
basil
onions
garlic

Quick Pickled Cucumber Salad from martha stewart

2 large cucumbers, peeled and thinly sliced crosswise
1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 cup rice vinegar
Coarse salt and ground pepper

In a large bowl, combine cucumbers, red onion, sugar, and rice vinegar. Season with salt and pepper and toss to combine.

Love Your Basil: Lemon Basil
by Ramona Werst
I can use any of my lemon basils to make Lemon Basil Syrup for lemonade. With my lime and Spicy Globe basils, I can prepare different fruit desserts. Simply adding chopped leaves from any of your basils can add a tang to your salad. Also, try adding a sprig of lemon or lime basil when you are grilling fish. When I grill fish, I will wrap my fish in foil and sprinkle it with spices, squeeze a little lemon on it, add a couple of slices of butter, and top it off with a lemon basil sprig. Next, I will fold the foil and cook it on the grill. Some people use cilantro, or parsley, but I use lemon or lime basil.
Now, don’t go and replace your lemons in recipes with lemon basil! Use the basil like a spice to add to your lemon recipes to add a different pleasant flavor.
If you garnish your ice tea with any of the lemon basils, you can advise your guests to rub the basil between their fingers just enough to bruise the basil, which will release its flavor, put it back into their ice tea and stir. This will add just a hint of lemon basil flavor to their beverage and your friends will enjoy learning the tips and secrets of using basil in their cooking and drinks. I still garnish with a fresh lemon slice. Although it adds a special mild flavor all on its own, the lemon basil is not strong enough to replace the flavor of fresh lemon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

